Red Velvet

Red Velvet (Hangul: 레드벨벳) is a South Korean girl group formed by S.M. Entertainment in 2014. The group consists of Irene, Seulgi, Wendy and Joy. They have released two digital singles, “Happiness” and “Be Natural”.



  • 1 History
    • 1.1 Pre-debut
    • 1.2 2014: Debut, “Happiness”, and “Be Natural”
  • 2 Controversy
  • 3 Members
  • 4 Discography
    • 4.1 Singles
    • 4.2 Soundtrack appearances and solo performances
    • 4.3 Music videos
    • 4.4 Guest appearances
  • 5 Concert tours
    • 5.1 SMTown
  • 6 Filmography
    • 6.1 Television
      • 6.1.1 Variety show appearances
    • 6.2 Musical theatre
  • 7 Awards and nominations
    • 7.1 Golden Disk Awards
    • 7.2 Seoul Music Awards
    • 7.3 MelOn Music Awards
    • 7.4 Korean Entertainment Art Awards
    • 7.5 SBS MTV Best of the Best
  • 8 References
  • 9 External links



Three of the four members of Red Velvet were previously part of S.M. Entertainment’s pre-debut team, S.M. Rookies.Seulgi, the first member who joined the agency, was brought in through an audition in 2007. Irene, the next member to join the company, was cast in 2009. Wendy auditioned through the SM Global Audition in Canada in 2012. Joy, the member who wasn’t part of S.M. Rookies, auditioned through the SM Global Audition in Seoul in 2012.

As part of S.M. Rookies, several clips of Irene, Seulgi and Wendy were released on S.M. Entertainment’s official YouTube account. The three members were rumored to debut as a group in July, which was then confirmed by S.M. Entertainment.With the addition of member Joy, the four-member group would debut as Red Velvet, S.M. Entertainment’s first girl group in five years after f(x).

2014: Debut, “Happiness”, and “Be Natural”

Red Velvet’s debut single, “Happiness”, was digitally released on August 4, 2014, through various South Korean online music stores. The song made its way up to the number one spot on Genie’s real-time chart,as well as the top 10 of various other online charts.Internationally, it debuted at No. 3 in Singapore and Taiwan, No. 4 in Malaysia, No. 5 in Thailand and No. 9 in Hong Kong. Its music video was released on August 1, reaching one million views within 11 hours,and becoming the second most viewed K-pop video worldwide in August 2014. The group made their official debut stage on the music program Music Bank.

Red Velvet released their second digital single “Be Natural”, a remake of a song by S.E.S, on October 13.[11] The group started their promotional activities for this release on October 9, making their first appearance on the music program, M! Countdown.[12] The music video for the song was released during the same day.


Shortly after the release of the music video for “Happiness”, Japanese media reported that images referencing the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki as well as the September 11 attacks were seen in the video. S.M. Entertainment responded to the reports, explaining, “After questioning the director, we found that he simply used a collage source for the images, and there was no intention behind it.” The representative added, “As SM wasn’t able to catch it before, we will remove the material that caused the misunderstanding as soon as possible. We will make sure not to let this kind of thing happen in the future.”On August 3, S.M. Entertainment deleted the original “Happiness” music video and uploaded a re-edited version without the controversial scenes.


  • Irene (Bae Joo-hyun; 배주현)
  • Kang Seul-gi (강슬기)
  • Wendy (Son Seung-wan; 손승완)
  • Joy (Park Soo-young; 박수영)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s